Certificate IV in Information Technology

Qualification Code: ICT40118  |   CRICOS Course Code: 0100136

More than an introduction to the IT field, this course serves as a direct entry into the market, providing students with competencies across a broad range of Information and Communications Technology (ICT) contexts: from hardware and software knowledge to basic networking, website and database development, programming and general IT support.


Course Structure

Total 20 units must be completed in order to successfully achieve this qualification.
5 core units of competency AND 15 elective units of competency


Pathway from the qualification are to further study in our ICT15 Diploma of Information Technology, or a range of other Diploma qualifications.

Duration and Fees

The total duration will be 52 weeks including the breaks.

See: Academic Calendar & Fees


Term 1

  • Workplace Safety and Sustainability
  • Professional Ethics and Communication in IT

Term 2

  • Business Analysis
  • Developing and Delivering Technical Documentation
  • Software Development Methodologies

Term 3

  • Automate Processes
  • Introductory Programming

Term 4

  • Basic Web Design
  • Manage Simple Projects

What will I get from this course?

Job roles related to this course:

  • IT Technician/Customer Support
  • Information Systems
  • Operator/Administrator
  • User Support Technician
  • Network Operations Technician

Skills you will be developing:

  • Troubleshooting and running diagnostic tests
  • Providing solutions to hardware or software faults
  • Selecting, installing and using computer software
  • Hardware products based on analysis of technical needs
  • Producing documents
  • Liaising with clients
  • Consulting with end users to determine requirement sign-off
Download This Course Guideline Here.
I’m ready to apply for this course.


Want to talk to someone from WiC?